Loading Events
  • This event has passed.
Local retailers are amazing! At this award ceremony, we’ll be celebrating local retailers and revealing the winner of the Distinguished Retailer of the Year Award.

Since 1966, a dedicated committee has vetted and combed through nominated local businesses, in order to present the most deserving local retailer this award. Winners of the Distinguished Retailer of the Year Award are local business owners who are proven leaders in their field and who support and engage the community.

Online Registration Closed

*Walk-ins welcome. Contact Nancy Thomas with any questions or concerns.


1966William B. Thalhimer, Jr., Thalhimers
1967Webster S. Rhoads, Miller & Rhoads
1968Daniel Schiller, Thalhimers
1969Raymond M. Munsch, Miller & Rhoads
1970Kenneth Lord, Kenneth Lord Furniture Shop
1971Emmett R. Kelley, Kelley’s Inc. Hardware Store
1972James T. Matthews, Sears, Roebuck & Co.
1973Newman Hamblet, Thalhimers
1974Carl E. Bain, Westhampton Pharmacy
1975Mel Burns, Mel Burns Clothes
1976Robert C. Kennedy, Old Dominion Camera Shop
1977Walter M. Fisher, Thalhimers
1978Morton Marks, Jr., Morton Marks & Sons
1979Jack L. Weiner, Saxon Shoes
1980James & Robert Ukrop, Ukrop’s Super Markets
1981Richard E. Strauss, Dick Strauss Ford-Isuzu
1982David G. Taylor, Bon Air Hardware
1983Jack M. Kreuter, Jack Kreuter Jewelers
1984Malcolm Kalman, Siegel’s Super Markets
1985Frances & Sydney Lewis, Best Products
1986James T. Hatcher, Sr., Jr.& III, Pleasants Hardware
1987William D. Selden, IV, C. P. Dean
1988Max H. Pearson, Richmond Honda
1989Frank B. Bradley, III, Fas Mart Stores
1990William B. Thalhimer, Jr., Thalhimers
1991Stuart C. Siegel, S&K Famous Brands
1992Joseph M. Kelleher, Jr., Kelleher Corp.
1993Leonard L. Edloe, Leonard L. Edloe Corp.
1994Millie Jones, Festival Flags
1995John A. Williams, Pleasants Hardware
1996Gary Weiner, Saxon Shoes
1997Franco Ambrogi, Franco’s Fine Clothier
1998Jo Anne Draucker, Premiere, Inc./Ellman’s Dancewear
1999Sarah Paxton and Andy Thornton, LaDifference
2000Tom Sands, Target
2001Richard L. Sharp, Circuit City
2002Paul & Marie Antoinette Elbling, La Petite France
2003Neil Gulati, Mattress King
2004Jacques Moore, Moore Family of Dealerships
2005Gary Glover, Puritan Cleaners
2006Pat Patrick, Patrick Auto Group
2007Frederick W. Siewers, Jr. and John C, Siewers, II, Siewers Lumber and Millwork
2008Lisa McSherry, Lex’s of Carytown
2009Mark Smith, Midas of Richmond
2010William Selden, C.P. Dean
2011Donelson Caffery, Good Foods Grocery
2012Pat & Bobbi Heaney, Mango Salon
2013David & Richard Hendrick, Custom Kitchens, Inc
2014Barry Moore, Haley Buick GMC
2015Ronnie Adolf, Adolf Jewelers
2016Jenni Kirby, Crossroads Art Center
2017Chris Holder, Capital Ale House
2018Rick Hood, Ellwood Thompson