TOTAL PROPOSED MEALS TAX WILL INCREASE TO 12.8%

 

 

Richmond is recommending increasing the meals tax by 1.5% to generate funding for Richmond Public Schools. The meals tax increase will cost those in Richmond nearly $9.1 million – raising the already high meals tax of 6% to 7.5%. This does not include the 5.3% sales tax, bringing the total proposed tax to 12.8%.

If passed, you can expect that this additional tax will have a significant effect on low- to middle-income families, tourists, businesses, and food service workers who rely on the affordability of prepared meals.

The estimated $9.1 million tax increase will have a big effect on our city.

Virginia Retail Federation (VRF), alongside Retail Merchants Association (RMA) and Virginia Restaurant, Lodging and Travel Association (VRLTA), strongly oppose this industry-specific tax increase and encourage you to write your City Council Representative in opposition as well.

 

TAKE ACTION NOW

CLICK EMAIL ADDRESSES TO SEND TEMPLATED EMAIL

Contacting your City Council Representative is key to stopping this tax.

FORWARD TO OTHERS | VIEW EMAIL TEMPLATE

 

Richmond West End 1st Voter District

Andreas D. Addison
804.646.5935
andreas.addison@richmondgov.com

Richmond North Central 2nd Voter District

Kimberly B. Gray
804.646.6532
kimberly.gray@richmondgov.com

Richmond Northside 3rd Voter District

Chris A. Hilbert
804.646.6055
Chris.Hilbert@Richmondgov.com

Richmond Southwest 4th Voter District

Kristen Nye Larson
804.646.5646
kristen.larson@richmondgov.com

Richmond Central 5th Voter District

Parker C. Agelasto
804.646.5724
parker.agelasto@richmondgov.com

Richmond Gateway 6th Voter District

Ellen F. Robertson
804.646.7964
Ellen.Robertson@Richmondgov.com

Richmond East End 7th Voter District

Cynthia I. Newbille
804.646.3012
Cynthia.Newbille@Richmondgov.com

Richmond Southside 8th Voter District

Reva M. Trammell
804.646.6591
Reva.Trammell@Richmondgov.com

Richmond South Central 9th Voter District

Michael J. Jones
804.646.2779
michael.jones@richmondgov.com